Sunday, January 27, 2008

Yet another abuse of the legal process?

Tansi/Good Day Readers:

Under Queen's Bench Rules, lawyers are permitted to conduct Examinations for Discovery. These are done before a court reporter usually in an attorney's office. In my case, this occurred September 18, 2007 and lasted from 9:30 a.m. until approximately 2:15 p.m. Co-Defendant Terry Belhumeur will have his Monday, January 28, 2008 beginning at 9:30 a.m.

Part or all of the official transcript can be entered into the record at trial. An educated guess is my Examination likely cost the taxpayer funded MMF at least $5,000:

(1) Cost of court reporter plus copy of transcript at least $900-$1,000

(2) Counselor Trachtenberg's preparation time plus attendance at Examination the balance (He bills at a minimum $250 calculated in tenths of an hour!)

To obtain a copy of the transcript I must pay for it out of my pocket while Counselor Trachtenberg simply charges the cost to the Federation.

Fortunately, written interrogatories are available whereby self-represented defendants can submit questions to the attorney representing a plaintiff(s) who is then obliged to respond. A form (available online from Manitoba Justice) is used. It states in part:

The (identity examining party) requires that the following questions be answered by affidavit in Form 35B prescribed by the Queen's Bench Rules, served within 15 days after service of these questions.

On January 2, 2008 I mailed Counselor Trachtenberg the following covering letter. Attached were 38 pages of questions for the plaintiffs. Since I have yet to receive his written answers, he is in violation of the within 15 days after service rule.

Sincerely,
Clare L. Pieuk
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
WITHOUT PREJUDICE

January 2, 2008

Mr. Murray N. Trachtenberg
Posner & Trachtenberg
Barristers, Solicitors & Notaries Public
710-491 Portage Avenue
Winnipeg, Manitoba R3B 2E4
mtrachtenberg@ptlaw.mb.ca

Counselor Trachtenberg:

Re: MMF et al. vs. Terry Belhumeur et al.
Queen's Bench File No. CI 05-01-41955

Attached are written interrogatories for each of the Plaintiffs remaining in the aforementioned lawsuit.

Forthwith, govern yourself accordingly.

Yours truly,
Clare L. Pieuk

Distribution List
bkaternick@mnbc.ca
tonyb@metisnation.org
mdevlin@metis.org
Media
cadler@cjob.com
boris.hrybinsky@freepress.mb.ca
david.kuxhaus@freepress.mb.ca
dan.lett@freepress.mb.ca
carol.sanders@freepress.mb.ca
colleen.simard@freepress.mb.ca
gordon.sinclair@freepress.mb.ca
louise_charette@cbc.ca
terry_macleod@cbc.ca
brendan_o'hallarn@cbc.ca
staff@taiga-communications.com
publisher@grassrootsnews.mb.ca
publisher@thundervoice.ca
theverdict@ctv.ca
stymofichuk@ctv.ca
cblatchford@globeandmail.com
pcheney@globeandmail.com
jibbitson@globeandmail.com
gmason@globeandmail.com
mwente@globeandmail.com
dwalton@globeandmail.com
dmartin@nationalpost.com
pgoodspeed@nationalpost.com
Federal
The Prime Minister (Harper.S@parl.gc.ca)
Minister of Indian And Northern Affairs Canada (Strahl.C@parl.gc.ca)
Minister of Finance (Flaherty.J@parl.gc.ca)
President, Treasury Board of Canada (Toews.V@parl.gc.ca)
Minister of Justice (Nicholson.R@parl.gc.ca)
Rod Bruinooge (Bruinooge.R@parl.gc.ca)
Stephane Dion (Dion.S@parl.gc.ca)
Raymond Simard (Simard.R@parl.gc.ca)
Jack Layton (Layton.J@parl.gc.ca)
Pat Martin (MartiPD@parl.gc.ca)
Auditor General of Canada (petitions@oag-bvg.gc.ca)
Canadian Taxpayers Federation - National (jwilliamson@taxpayer.com)
Provincial
Premier, Manitoba (premier@leg.gov.mb.ca)
Minister of Finance (minfin@leg.gov.mb.ca)
Minister of Justice (minjus@leg.gov.mb.ca)
Auditor General of Manitoba (contact@oag.mb.ca)
Canadian Taxpayers Federation - Manitoba (abatra@shawbiz.ca)
Legal Community
PublicInterest Law Centre - Winnipeg (bwilliams@pilc.mb.ca)
Lionel R. R. Chartrand - Legal Aid Manitoba (licha@legalaid.mb.ca)
abruun@campbellmarr.com
jnieder@shaw.ca
thefirm@fleurcom.on.ca
bamyot@heenan.ca
jgj@aikins.com
wonchulenko@ltgg.ca
The Lawyers Weekly (tlw@lexisnexis.ca)
admin@cba-mb.ca
media@scc-csc.gc.ca
law-droit@scc-csc.gc.ca
harvey_secter@umanitoba.ca
lawdean@osgoode.yorku.ca
cchisick@osgoode.yorku.ca
afineblit@lawsociety.mb.ca
mtrachtenberg@ptlaw.mb.ca
lcoulombe@ptlaw.mb.ca

1 Comments:

Anonymous Anonymous said...

Why are you surprised ?? This is the same stumble-bum who is clearly milking his dumbass clients for all they're worth.

3:29 PM  

Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home